Books by Ed Charlton

Books by Ed Charlton

Click on any cover to go to using my affiliate links. Thanks!

Jim Able: Offworld

Kindle series

Jim Able: Offworld is for readers who enjoy quirky aliens, flawed humans, and heroes who work in outer space but must still submit expense reports back at the office. Join the adventure of discovering new worlds and perspectives, first contacts, and unexpected encounters.

Ed says: Think of the individual episodes as one episode of a TV series. Each set of episodes is a complete story. Go ahead. Binge!

Episodes 1 thru 4

To Do: Find alien, avoid starting war, submit expenses

Jim Able likes working offworld, especially since he doesn’t like his boss being constantly on his case. Not trusting Jim after an ill-fated mission, she gives him a new assignment with a warning, “Don’t start a war!”

Jim plunges into meeting an alien who doesn’t want to be found. He finds an ally in the Turcanian scientist, Madhar Nect, and she introduces him to the religious sect hiding his target.

Too intent on notching up a successful mission, Jim is one small lie away from starting the war he was warned to avoid.

Episodes #1 thru #4 chronicle Jim’s accidental and dangerous first contact on Turcanis Major V-I.


Episodes 5 thru 9

To Do: Tail drone, destroy space fleet, submit expenses

Jim Able likes working offworld. His previous boss fired him but now he’s working for the chameleon-skinned alien, Tella. Their new assignment, to follow a mysterious drone. What could go wrong?

Jim is led to the environmentally damaged planet of Tanna Gul and its spiritual leader—the Gul Raeff. Jim, who barely manages to keep himself safe, feels responsible for the safety of a young monk traveling with him. When the monk dies, will Jim’s anger and guilt bring about more death and destruction?

Above all, are the monk’s superiors—secretive senders of the drone—working behind the scenes with Jim or against him?

Episodes #5 thru #9 chronicle a mystery leading Jim to a war between the neighboring planets Tanna Gul and Tanna Jorr.

Episodes 10 thru 13

Ed says: I’m writing them right now! Get updates by signing up for my newsletter.


In paperback

Episodes 1 thru 4 all in one book, with some added bonus material.

In paperback

Episodes 5 thru 9 all in one book!

The Aleronde Trilogy

Available as Kindle and Paperbacks.

Three very different books. One epic sci-fi tale.

Theo and his publisher friend Curt are the only humans aware of the danger from the Aleronden empire.

They’ll need help.

Peter may be a helpful fellow, but knows nothing of solving murders or to traveling to other worlds.

Who can topple an empire? Who else?

Book 1 The Problem with Uncle Teddy’s Memoir

An inherited memoir stirs up unwelcome memories, but that’s just the beginning.

Ed says: The trilogy started out as an experiment – an epistolary novella – a story told through letters, notes, e-mails, and manuscript pages.  You will find the characters of The Problem with Uncle Teddy’s Memoir stay with you in a different way, because they are always writing in their own voices. I want this book to be a memorable read and a tactile and visual experience, complete with coffee stains. You know…like reading used to be!   More here.

Book 2 Saint John’s Ambulatory

The parish church of St. John’s In The Green holds an ancient secret. Beneath its quiet sanctuary lies a passageway, The Ambulatory.

Ed says: Sci-fi and a contemporary murder mystery – there’s a body by the end of the first page. But the aliens are in the shadows of course! Don’t be alarmed if this book contains no Uncle Teddy. The book may be the second in The Aleronde Trilogy, but it may be read on its own and is co-equal with The Problem with Uncle Teddy’s Memoir.   More here.

Book 3 Aleronde the Great

Aleronde the Great brings the characters from the first two books together in an epic finale.

Visitors from Earth stumble into an alien city on the edge of catastrophe and provide an unexpected push.

Ed says: A tale of how the mighty fall. More aliens and colorful characters than you can shake a gre-tra at.  More here.

When Visitors Come to Tea

A short story of Regency manners

When Visitors Come to Tea

Paperback and Kindle

The demur Cranford sisters meet a stranger, but who is in the greater danger?

 More here.

Copyright Ed Charlton 2022